This is page 147 out of my autobiography… 

 

think that one of the main reasons I’ve come this far has to do with my college years. Times were different back then; we didn’t have most of the luxuries kids these days have now. That’s right, there weren’t any Holograph Teachers or lectures in pill form. We actually sat in a class while a real person walked in and taught us. Ridiculous? It might so

und that way, but back then it was normal. I even remember some of the classes I took: Statistics and Accounting, that kind of thing. Man were they tough, but they got me where I am today. To tell the truth, my college years were some of the best years of my life.             
             In those da

ys, I was a Hospitality major planning on getting my MBA. I took 126 credit hours and graduated with flying colors. It was a tough thing: balancing school, work and a social life…but I made it through. While I was at FSU I was taking at least 15 credit semesters, working 30 hours a week and still making time for friends. I remember the fun times we had together. Hanging out at the Sweet Shop or getting lunch together at the Suwannee Room. Sometimes we’d even throw a party or two, just for kicks. But most of the time we’d be the party attendees.
              If I can go way back for a second – even a little past the college years – I remember that senior year and all my college hopes and fears. Life was tough for me back then with parents breathing down my back through everything. In my mind, I created college as a dream world filled with fun, laughter and freedom. Every now and again, I found myself daydreaming about the things I’d do when I got to college. Let my hair grow out, wear whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. But, to be honest, I was a little scared too. I dual-enrolled at the community college in Tampa, but I knew it was nothing like a real University. Even though I might have had a slight jump on the other kids, it wasn’t much to prepare me for college life. I didn’t know what to expect. What will the teachers be like? Who am I going to meet? Will I have any friends outside the small circle of us that are going together? These were just a few of the questions running through my mind. 
            
But college calmed my fears. It was a wonderful period of my life and it was filled with fun, laughter and freedom. But it certainly wasn’t the perfect world I’d created in my daydreams. Although the majority of my college life was terrific, I can’t say that about the whole experience. I had my share of teachers who didn’t care who I was or how I did. I had my share of bad times at work. I had my share of missing out while studying for a big test. Who’s to say college life is perfect? I use the phrase “had my share” because everyone gets a share of these things. Life wouldn’t be real without the bad times mixed in with the good. It’d be a sham…or at the very least a temporary situation, just waiting to fall with an even bigger crash. Looking back now, I realize that I wouldn’t trade those years for anything. Not even the bad ones. It’s as Teddy Roosevelt said, “Life brings sorrows and joys alike. It is what a man does with them – not what they do to him – that is the true test of his mettle.” 
            
Of course, it wasn’t until my fourth or fifth semester that I realized this, but just the same. I suppose everything that happens in our lives, even down to the smallest action, influences and shapes us into who we are now. The biggest example I see in my life is in my college experience. College is where I learned to learn – to teach myself and absorb knowledge. College is where I learned how life works and what responsibility really means. College is where I made lifelong friends who I still keep in touch with. College is where I began my own life, without guardians. But most of all, college is where I decided

Be Loved,
The Jack of Hearts
dsc0072422.JPG

