Argue –

  1. To put forth reasons for or against; debate: “It is time to stop arguing tax-rate reductions and to enact them” (Paul Craig Roberts).
  2. To attempt to prove by reasoning; maintain or contend: The speaker argued that more immigrants should be admitted to the country.
  3. To give evidence of; indicate: “Similarities cannot always be used to argue descent” (Isaac Asimov).
  4. To persuade or influence (another), as by presenting reasons: argued the clerk into lowering the price.

Quarrel –

  1. To engage in a quarrel; dispute angrily. See Synonyms at argue.
  2. To disagree; differ: I quarrel with your conclusions.
  3. To find fault; complain.

As humans, the undisputable Law of Human Nature (see Mere Christianity, Chapter 1) holds us to certain convictions; and half the time, we feel that our convictions are right, and others’ wrong. Why? Why are we stuck like this? I think it’s mostly just me. I’m an arguer, I’ll admit it. And a lot of times my arguments turn into quarrels. But what makes me so sure of everything I’m saying? Most of the time, it’s truly simple stubbornness. I’m argumentative and I’m stubborn. But I’m also loyal. I always feel that when I’m arguing, once I’ve made a point, I’ve got to stick with it. In my arguments, in my head, it’s the other who has to give in, or we just disagree. I never feel like I can give in, even when my arguments got 100 holes, and the other point has been proven numerous times. But anyways, I just feel bad half the time when my pride, stubbornness, and loyalty won’t let me give up. Of course, there is that seemingly ‘noble’ side of me that never wants to give up. But I need to apply that when it’s needed, not in an argument about, say, the Phantom of the Opera.

