Miracles are beyond the scope of human minds. We can’t explain them, let alone do them, without an outstanding amount of faith. And not everyone has been given the gift of performing miracles. Evidence for this can be seen in 1st Corinthians 12:28-29 when Paul says, “And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues. Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles?” And I believe that miracles are done where they are needed; where it would help instigate the belief of someone. It says in Mark 6:5-6, “He could not do any miracles there, except lay hi hands on a few sick people. And he was amazed at their lack of faith.” I think the purpose of miracles isn’t so much for the believer’s faith, but to create a new faith in an unbeliever. Jesus says to the people in John 10:38: “But if I do [what my Father does], even though you do not believe me, believe the miracles, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me, and I in Him.” And it’s through the Holy Spirit in him that Jesus could do miracles – same with us today. I think when we do miracles, it’s through the Holy Spirit, and nothing comes from our own will or power. In Hebrews 2:4 it says, “God also testified to it by signs, wonders, and various miracles, and gifts of the Holy Spirit, distributed according to His will.” (which also goes to say that God distributes these gifts, not evenly, but sporadically, as according to His will) Paul also testifies to this when he says in Romans 15:18-19 “I will not venture to speak of anything except what Christ has accomplished through me in leading the Gentiles to obey God by what I have said and done – by the power of signs and miracles, through the power of the Spirit. So from Jerusalem all the way around to Illyricum, I have fully proclaimed the gospel of Christ.”

